T-Shirt Quilt Progress

Happy Wednesday everyone. Today, I finished piecing the T-shirt quilt.

IMG_0789 (2)

I tried to use the 10 shirts to their best advantage. I wanted it to be long so it ended up being narrow. I added the two side borders to make it wide enough. The borders are 6″ for a total width of 67″. The length is 89 inches. The large t-shirt blocks are 13″ and the small ones are 6 x 13. Each sashing  piece is 2″ wide.

When I was constructing the blocks, I added the sashing to each t-shirt all they way around before piecing each of the shirts together.

IMG_0789 (4)

I didn’t get any pictures while I was piecing it, but this is what each looked like before putting them all together. I thought this would be easier to do than try to sew long rows of narrow sashing strips. I only had to add a sashing strip to each side and to the top and bottom to finish it up. Now to get the backing and decide how to quilt it with something besides a meander. I have a few ideas, but I’ll have to practice to see which ones I like best.

IMG_0786 (3)

I also made the binding. It’s not one of my favorite things to do so I always try to get the binding made before I start quilting if I know what fabric I’m using. I’ve had a few quilts sit after they’ve been quilted waiting for the binding. How about you? When do you make your binding?

Thanks for stopping by.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to T-Shirt Quilt Progress

  1. Christine says:

    Love this Brenda. Even recognized some old Stingray shirts. Great idea.

    Like

  2. Lydia S says:

    Just before sewing it on. I have a hard time making sure a large quilt is squared and even

    Like

Leave a Reply

