Some Embroidery and EPP

As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been doing lots of hand work this past month. I can now show you some of the embroidery I’ve finished.

IMG_0710 (3)

IMG_0707 (2)

These were made for two very dear friends who’ve had a lot going on in there lives in the past few months. The designs are from Jenny of Elefantz’s Block 2 “Gentle Domesticity” BOM. She also has some inspirational words to go along with the designs. The patterns are free during the month they are posted. Block 3’s inspiration is “Take Time to Breath.” You can check it out here.

IMG_0717 (2)

I wanted to find some frames for them, but just couldn’t find the right ones. Then I remembered I used to frame x-stitch ornaments in hoops, so why not. I cut 1 1/4″ bias strips and wrapped the hoop. Then I placed the design in the hoop and basted around the circle like you would do if you were making a YO-YO. I pulled it tight then trimmed it with my pinking shears.

 

 

 

IMG_0723 (2)

I used scrap book paper to cover the back of the hoop to make it all nice and neat. It was fun doing applique and the stitchery on the same piece. I’ve just started working on my March “year in the garden” by Jenny. Hopefully I’ll finish it up before April!

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve also been working on the  Blocks on the Go quilt along. I have 3 out of the 5 pieced for this month.

One of the things I like most about this project is picking which lovely Bonnie and Camille fabrics I’m going to use. Each line just goes so well together. Block 1 has fabrics from Hello Darling and Vintage Picnic, the 2nd one is all Daysail and the 3rd is Vintage Picnic.

I’ve also been busy on my Stars Around the Garden Quilt.

IMG_0704

The outside sashing is all marked and I’ve almost finished quilting one of the long sides. This was at the top of my list for this quarters 2016 Finish-A-Long. Not sure I’m going to make it or not. I have been trying to work on it some every day, but my daughter is home for spring break this week  and we have plans to do something almost every day.  At least I’m nearing end  now.

You can now find me on Instagram, @thequiltingnook. Check it out when you get a chance. Thanks for stopping by.

 

This entry was posted in 2016 Finish Along, Blocks on the Go, for Quilts that Grow, embroidery, Stitchery and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Some Embroidery and EPP

  1. Lydia S says:

    I am enjoying mine-it’s on my dresser where I can see it everyday! I’m so behind on my blocks on the grow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

