New Project and Some Finishes

I hope everyone had a nice weekend. We returned from our Mississippi trip late on Saturday. The University of West Florida won the conference swim meet for the second year in a row and it’s only the third season the team has existed. It was fun to watch and our daughter swam all best times so that was exciting, too.  GO ARGOS!

rp_primary_NSCIC_Champions

We were actually in the Mississippi Delta, very flat and mostly farmland. Also, long straight roads.

We stayed in Greenville which is on the Mississippi River, but because of the levees, you can’t see it from the road. We took a side trip to Vicksburg one afternoon to visit The National Military Park which was very impressive. Worth a trip if you are heading that way.

Since it was a 6 1/2 hour car drive one way, I was able to finish up my month 2 blocks for the New Hexagon, Blocks on the Go. I wasn’t sure how I would like doing all the hand piecing, but I don’t mind it. It is fun to pick the fabrics for each block. I just received my Vintage Picnic layer cake from Bonnie and Camille so my next set will have some of those fabrics in it.

IMG_0669 (2)

This is all eight of the hexies so far. After I finish the next group, I’ll start sewing the hexies together. I don’t want to wait until I have 52 of them to do. I also started a new project.

IMG_0675

A friend asked me several years ago if I would make her son a T-Shirt quilt for his graduation. She is going to pay me so this is my first commissioned work. He would only give up 10 shirts though, so I’m going to have to be creative in putting this together. I took a class over 20 years ago, but never finished the quilt so I needed a little help in getting started. I found this tutorial by Wee Share here. I’ve got a lot to keep me busy.

A 2016 Finish A Long  Minis and More is coming up later this week, so please stop back by to see it.

This entry was posted in Blocks on the Go, for Quilts that Grow and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Project and Some Finishes

  1. Lydia S says:

    I love how your hexagons are coming along. I finished piecing the last block, but need to do the batting and backing for all 8. Hopefully this week, so I’ll be ready for the next shipment. Congrats to Emily on the win!

    Like

Leave a Reply

