Shopping and New Plans

I wanted to show you my first set of finished blocks from The New Hexagon, Blocks on the Go for Quilts that Grow (BOG) BOM.

IMG_0521 (3)

The idea is to use embroidery floss or pearl cotton and big stitch them so they will be quilted when all are finished. I think I’m going to machine quilt them when they are all done.  As soon as I get enough variety, I’m going to start stitching the hexies together. I love the way they are turning out using the Bonnie and Camille fabrics. These four contain fabrics from Scrumptious, Miss Kate, Daysail, and Hello Darling. I have two of the inside pieced hexies finished for February, but no pictures yet. If you are interested in the BOM, check out Katjas Blocks on the Go here.

I received my check for jury duty this week. A whopping $75 for 3 days. I decided to take it and spend it all in one place. I think I told you before, within about a 15 mile radius, we have four quilt shops. It used to be five until recently when the owner retired. I visited two this week. This is what I found at Sew Main Street in Woodstock, GA.

IMG_0568 (2)

 

This is a Riley Blake layer cake called Offshore by deenarutter. I thought it would be perfect for February’s Mini and Mores project, Clambake Mini by thimble blossoms.

 

 

 

 

IMG_0573 (2) IMG_0576 (2)

I plan on using the cream surf shack fabric for the backing and the red print from Bonnie and Camille Daysail for the binding. The pattern calls for a charm pack, but since I’m using a layer cake, I’ll be able to fussy cut and showcase some of the fabric designs. The shop also had some Moda Lawn.

IMG_0564 (2)

I have a shirt pattern that I bought last year that I wanted to make out of Liberty of London lawn, but couldn’t bring myself to spend $40+ a yard on something I wasn’t sure was going to fit right. I ended up getting a nice soft quilters cotton and plan on making it this spring. This Moda Lawn was under $12 a yard. I got enough of it to either make a skirt or another top. I don’t sew clothes often enough anymore to really know which size on the pattern to use. I used to make a size 10 which has a 32 1/2 bust. That’s so not me anymore. Since I knit, I do know my measurements so hopefully I’ll be alright.

I also went to Tiny Stitches in Marietta where I picked up some fabric for my son’s college graduation quilt.

IMG_0560 (2)

No he doesn’t go to Georgia Tech, but Kennesaw State. I had a hard time getting the gold in the picture to be the right color. I plan on making a disappearing 4-patch. I’ll use different black prints and use the same gold for the contrasting color. I did this in a summer disappearing 4-patch that I made and liked the affect instead of being all scrappy.

P1020936

Well that’s all for now. I’ve got a lot to get going on. Thank’s for stopping by.

This entry was posted in Blocks on the Go, for Quilts that Grow, Minis and More, The New Hexagon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shopping and New Plans

  1. Lydia S. says:

    Love the Offshore collection! That was tax dollars well spent.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Fifth 2016 Finish-A-Long | The Quilting Nook

Leave a Reply

