2016 Finish-A-Long Number 4

2014a-20162bbutton2b2502bbest2b150

My fourth FAL is the background mini quilt that the “a year in the garden” monthly stitcheries go on.  Check out Jenny of Elefantz’s web site if you are interested in the designs.

IMG_0492 (2)

IMG_0495 (2)

 

 

The buttons hold the individual stitcheries. I used some embroidery floss and stitched a big looped Lazy Daisy Stitch to go over the buttons.

 

 

 

From the back, you can see the free motion orange peel quilting design.

 
IMG_0498 (2)

This is the first time I’ve used this design on a quilt although I have practiced it several times in different classes. I marked the grid from corner to corner, then marked 1 1/4 ” from those lines.

IMG_0457(2)

You can see I also marked the binding sewing line so I could center the width of the design. I didn’t do any math but was lucky the top and bottom of the design lined up with the length. The size of the quilt without the binding is 10 ” x  11″.

IMG_0514 (2)

Here it is on my little stand. I almost had it finished in time to display it in January. I have the stitchery done for February, now I need to put the boarders on and quilt it. That will be some sewing for later this week.

IMG_0526 (2)

Number 9 is checked off.  Next will be Stitchery Number 1 February, then start back on Quilting Number 1. That’s been an ongoing project for years. I’ll share it with you soon. I also have to start on February’s mini and continue to work on the Blocks on the Go. I’ve got a busy month ahead. Thanks for stopping by.

 

This entry was posted in 2016 Finish Along, A Year in the Garden Embroidery, FMQ and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2016 Finish-A-Long Number 4

  1. Lydia S says:

    This is very cool, I was wondering about this project-I love the orange peel quilting too.

    Like

  2. Stacey says:

    What a cute idea – love the hanger, too! Thank you so much for participating in the Finish-A-Long, on behalf of the 2016 hosts!

    Like

  3. Sherry says:

    I am working on the same embroideries from Jenny. I love the way you are finishing them and using the hanger. I have completed January and December and getting ready to start to work on February and March.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Finish A Long Number 2,Q1 | The Quilting Nook

Leave a Reply

