January Minis and More and Another Finish-A-Long

2014a-20162bbutton2b2502bbest2b150

I have finished the January Minis and More and sent it to Sherri at A Quilting Life for the January Parade which she and Michele at Island Life Quilts present at the first of each month.

IMG_0477 (3)

This months pattern, Hope Chest Mini, was designed by Sherri. She also designed a full size pattern, Hope Chest, that I might have to do one day. I really enjoyed working on this. Just enough of a challenge, especially working with the small pieces.

IMG_0461I made mine out of batik scraps that I had from a quilt I made for my niece’s high school graduation. I quilted it by free motion quilting in the ditch.  When I’m working with these bright colors, I like the colors to stand out instead of the quilting. Because this is such a small quilt ,17″ x 17″, it’s not worth changing colors for each block.

 

It is currently hanging on my mini wall in my sewing area. My small quilts aren’t all color coordinated like some, but it makes me happy to see them hanging there.

IMG_0481 (2)

This is not the best picture because I took it too early in the morning and had to have the lights on, but you get the idea.  I’m using wonder clips to hang the quilts on some twine, this way, I can easily take them off and move them around the house.

IMG_0483 (2)

This is my third finish for this quarter of the 2016 Finish-A-Long. I have one more finish to show, then I’ll be working on things from the list.

On another note, I wanted to show you what my daughter was up to over the weekend.

IMG_0490 (2)

They did not have a swim meet this weekend, so the team went to the beach.
She’s the one on the left.  She goes to school in Pensacola so they go to the beach quite often. This is the type of weather I had in the winter

VT Snow 2

This photo is courteous of virginiatech.tumbler.com

We rarely had a snow day and had to walk across the drill field in these conditions.

Thanks for stopping by and remember to check out Michele’s and Sherri’s blog for the parade of Minis and More.

This entry was posted in 2016 Finish Along, FMQ, Minis and More and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to January Minis and More and Another Finish-A-Long

  1. Lydia S says:

    I love those mini’s! What a difference in college experiences!

    Like

  2. Michele says:

    This mini Hope Chest is amazing! The black fabric really makes those bright colors pop!

    Like

  3. aquilterstable says:

    Congrats on the lovely finish! Thank you for participating in the FAL, on behalf of the 2016 global FAL hosts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

