Second 2016 Finish-A-Long

2014a-20162bbutton2b2502bbest2b150

I have completed my second Finish-A-Long (FAL) for the year. It is the January Stitchery piece by Jenny of Elefantz.

IMG_0473 (2)

I did my stitchery quilt slightly different than Jenny did. Instead of adding binding on the outside, I added a 1/2 inch boarder, then placed the back and batting right sides together with the top. I left and opening at the bottom, turned, then edge stitched around the entire piece. I want to use up some of my scraps in this project. I will probably free motion quilt a small filler around the embroidery for February.  If I like it, I may change this one, too.

I was able to get this one marked off my list.

IMG_0484 (2)

On a different note, my quilty friends and I got together today in a local hotel lobby to work on our Blocks on the Go, for Quilts that Grow.

IMG_0489 (2)

I was a little uncomfortable to start with, but it worked out okay and we are planning to meet there again next month. The hotel is connected to a conference center, so there were lots of seating areas.

Thanks for stopping by.

 

This entry was posted in 2016 Finish Along, A Year in the Garden Embroidery, Blocks on the Go, for Quilts that Grow, Stitchery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Second 2016 Finish-A-Long

  1. Lydia S says:

    It was loads of fun! I love the embroidery-maybe later in the year you can get me started on learning.

    Like

  2. Nicky says:

    Cute little quiltlet! Are you making a whole calendar? Thanks for participating in the FAL2016 from your global team of hosts

    Like

  3. Brenda says:

    Yes. There are 12 mini quilts that attach to the background quilt each month. The designs were part of Jenny of Elefantz’s (www.elefantz.com) January and February Stitchery Club.

    Like

Leave a Reply

