Weekend Update

I’m creating this post from the County Superior Court, because I have been summoned for jury duty. I sat around all day Monday waiting to be called, but never was. I expect to be called sometime this morning. In the mean time, I thought I would share a few pictures from my weekend and what I got accomplished sewing wise.

On Friday, we went to Pensacola to visit my daughter and see her last swim meet. Our son went with us so we left early enough to visit the Naval Air Museum at NAS Pensacola. It is a great museum and they must have just about every airplane that the Navy has flown; starting with the first days of flight up through modern times.

IMG_0447

I wanted to show you this T-28 because it was the type of plane my dad trained in at Pensacola when he was in flight school for the Navy.

IMG_0448

These are the A-4 Blue Angels. If you have never seen them perform, I would highly recommend it. Today, they fly F-18’s which are bigger and faster.

IMG_0452

From this angle, you can see how tight of a formation that they fly. If you look closely, you can just make out the tail elevator of Number 4 just below Number 1’s. This group performs most of their maneuvers in this tight formation.

Now on to some sewing. In the car I almost finished up my February stitchery for a “year in the garden” but I don’t have pictures yet. Yesterday, while sitting in the jury room, I worked on block 4 from the Blocks on the Go. I didn’t have the book, so I sewed a couple of pieces wrong to start with. I hope to finish it up today. These pieces are like putting a puzzle together. You definitely need to look at the book to figure out out they go together.

We got home early enough on Sunday for me to start quilting my Hope Chest Minis and More.

IMG_0461

I decided to quilt it by stitching in the ditch around all the blocks and sashing and around the black in the blocks. I am using the free motion foot because I find it easier to manipulate the quilt with it than when using a walking foot. If one of the pieces doesn’t quite come to a nice point, I can work around it with the free motion foot. This is actually the ruler foot for my machine. I really should be using the open toe foot so I can see a little better. I thought I was going to start quilting on a different quilt than this one.

IMG_0465You can see where I missed the ditch a little when quilting. The black thread really shows up too, but since this is really for fun and will either hang on a wall or lay on a table, I’m not going to rip it out and do it over. I may change my foot though to see a little better.

 

 

IMG_0457(2)This is the mini quilt that my monthly stitcheries will go on. The fabric is Day Sail from Bonnie and Camille for Moda. I am going to FMQ the orange peel pattern using my ruler and ruler foot. I marked it using the Frixion Pen. I would only recommend using these pens on light colored fabrics. On dark colors, it can leave a light mark that shows up. I was going to do this one first, but the Mini Hope Chest needs to be finished by Friday of this week for the Mini Parade on Monday, Feb 2.

 

 

I hope you enjoyed the small tour of the Air Museum. Thanks for stopping by.

 

This entry was posted in A Year in the Garden Embroidery, Blocks on the Go, for Quilts that Grow, FMQ, Minis and More, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend Update

  1. Christine McCartney says:

    Great Job! How did Em do at the meet?

    Like

  2. We used to stop by the museum when Steve’s parents had their patio home in Bluewater Bay. Cool place.

    Like

Leave a Reply

