Back Home and Busy

We got home from our Virginia trip on Sunday. I’ve spent the last two days catching up with laundry, cleaning and grocery shopping. I also managed to do some sewing on my January Minis and More and finishing the January stitchery.

IMG_0436 (3)

The yellows are shadows

On Saturday, we toured through Staunton and Lexington, VA, then we stopped and had lunch at my sister’s new Bistro in Buchanan, VA.  We are trying to narrow down places to retire, even though it won’t happen for 5 – 7 more years.  In Staunton, I found Rachel’s Quilt Patch and spent a few minutes shopping. Then, we drove on a 2 lane road from Staunton to Lexington, just to avoid the interstate.

IMG_0386

IMG_0395 (2)

 

From Lexington, we drove on to Buchanan to have lunch at my sister’s and her husband’s bistro called the Brink of the James Bistro. It’s only been open since September and Jay, my brother-in-law, is an excellent chef. If you are travelling on I 81 between Roanoke and Lexington, this would be a great place to stop for lunch. It’s close to the interstate and right across from the James River.IMG_0394 (2) In warmer weather, the deck would be a great place to sit and enjoy a fine meal and watch the river and look at the mountains.

 

 

 

 

 

After lunch, we traveled to Virginia Tech and spent the night in Blacksburg. This is also on the list for retirement. The campus is probably one of the prettiest in the country.

The first picture is of the drill field with the chapel and library in the background. The center is where I spent most of my class time and the last one is of my dorm. It always brings back fond memories to visit. The next morning, we woke up to this:

We drove in the snow all the way to Bristol. Fortunately, there was very little accumulation and the roads were mostly wet and not slippery. On the way home, I completed another of Katja’s Blocks on the Go block. I really like how this one came out.

IMG_0426 (2)

One more to finish, then I’ll start adding the sashing and batting.

I carried my projects in this case that I made from the Clover and Violet Supply Case.

IMG_0324The embroidery is from Jenny’s Stitchery Club.  This is the medium supply case. It has three pockets on each side and the zippered pouch in the middle. It was fun to make.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_0332(2)

IMG_0329(2)

I hope you enjoyed reading about our trip and some of the projects I have been working on. This weekend we are off to see my daughter’s swim meet in Pensacola. Thanks for stopping by.

This entry was posted in A Year in the Garden Embroidery, Blocks on the Go, for Quilts that Grow, Stitchery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back Home and Busy

  1. Lydia S says:

    Glad you had a good time-love the project bag! I have finished 2 1/2 of the hexagons [tops only] hope to be finished this weekend.

    Like

  2. Love this project bag, so glad y’all enjoyed your trip.

    Like

Leave a Reply

