Welcome to The Quilting Nook

I have been following quilting blogs for the past few years and have decided to dive into it myself.  I have been sewing since 5th grade and began quilting almost 30 years ago.  In the early days, I sewed clothes for fun, school, then work.  I even made my senior prom dress. That was back in the late 70’s when the lines were much simpler and there was no sparkle to the dresses. It also cost a lot less than the dress we bought our daughter for her senior prom last year. Today I like to quilt, applique, embroider, and knit. Over the past few years, I have really embraced FMQ on my Pfaff Quilt Expression 4.0.

IMG_0267 - Copy (2)

I am married and have two children, a son who will graduate from college this spring and a daughter who is a college freshman.  If you get a chance, visit the About section and read more on my activities and family.

So, why did I want to start a blog now?  Well, I wanted a place to share what I’m working on, especially now that I’m participating in several on-line projects this year.  Here are a few of them:

  • Minis and More hosted by Sherri at A Quilting Life and Michele at IslandLife Quilts. A Mini Parade is shared on the first of each month.  This month’s mini, Hope Chest Mini, was designed by Sherri.  I am using these batik scraps for my blocks.

IMG_0294

  • The next project is the Blocks on the Go, for Quilts on the Grow!  This is an English Paper Piecing project I am working on this with my three quilty friends. We’ve been getting together once a month for the past 6 years. I’m going to be using leftover Bonnie and Camille scraps and Hello Darling and Vintage Picnic layer cakes for the pieced hexagons. I have never done English Paper Piecing before. I’m always excited to learn something new.
  • The third project I’ll share today is Jenny’s of Jenny of ELEFANTZ “a year in the garden” embroidery patterns through her monthly Stitchery Club. I haven’t started yet, but hope to get January’s and February’s done while on a car trip next week. Her patterns are sweet and full of flowers and birds. They are also small which makes them work up quickly.

I’d like to thank you for stopping by and hope you come back soon. Please have patience with me as I get started and learn how everything works. I have a Pinterest page where you can find my creations, but I don’t do facebook or Instagram (yet).  You can also find me on Ravelry at BrenHKnit if you’re interested.

This entry was posted in A Year in the Garden Embroidery, Blocks on the Go, for Quilts that Grow, Minis and More and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome to The Quilting Nook

  1. Lydia S says:

    You are a busy girl! This is a great place to share what you are working on.

    Like

  2. You’ve got some exciting things planned for the next year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

